Berkeley Collegium

Fostering innovation and excellence in undergraduate teaching

The Berkeley Collegium is charged with fostering innovation and excellence in undergraduate teaching at UC Berkeley. Composed of the current faculty holders of the ten endowed chairs related to undergraduate education, Collegium members are all Academic Senate faculty who have excelled in teaching and have demonstrated a deep commitment to and engagement with the teaching enterprise at Berkeley. 

The Collegium provides this group of exceptional faculty with resources for initiatives that will elevate teaching across campus, especially at the undergraduate level. The Collegium leads the identification and development of new ideas, supports their implementation, and assesses their success. It also partners with other campus organizations that would benefit from its advice and assistance.

The group’s signature initiative is the Berkeley Collegium Grant Program which supports faculty projects aimed at narrowing the gap between teaching and research at Berkeley. In addition, the Collegium sponsors the Berkeley Collegium Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Education which recognizes an existing campus program, initiative, or unit that has exceptional promise or a track record of success in promoting undergraduate education at Berkeley.

The Collegium’s long-term aim is to engender and sustain a cultural shift on campus whereby faculty and students alike view undergraduate engagement in research as a fundamental, desirable, and assumed element of every undergraduate's Berkeley experience. For more information about the Collegium, email

Collegium Members

Name Affiliation

Ula Y. Taylor

Professor of African American Studies
Class of 1960 Chair in Undergraduate Education

Eric Y. Ma

Assistant Professor of Physics and by courtesy EECS
Georgia Lee Chair in Physics

Erica Bree Rosenblum

Professor of Environmental Science Policy and Management
Marian E. and Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Distinguished Chair for Innovative Teaching and Research

Ethan H. Shagan

Professor of History
Zaffaroni Family Chair in Undergraduate Education

Glynda Hull

Professor of Education
Elizabeth H. and Eugene A. Shurtleff Chair in Undergraduate Education

Julia Bryan-Wilson

Professor of Modern and Contemporary Art
Doris and Clarence Malo Chair in Undergraduate Education

Kathleen Donegan

Professor of English
Daniel E. Koshland, Jr. Distinguished Chair in Writing

Mark Danner

Chancellor's Professor of English and Journalism
Class of 1961 Distinguished Chair in Undergraduate Education

Michael Manga

Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Gary and Donna Freedman Chair in Undergraduate Education

Tyrone B. Hayes

Professor of Integrative Biology
Judy Chandler Webb Distinguished Chair for Innovative Teaching and Research

Staff to the Collegium

Name Affiliation
Sumali Tuchrello Project Policy Analyst, Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education