Announcing the Inaugural Recipients of the L&S Faculty Awards

April 25, 2023

Sent on behalf of the College of Letters & Science

Dear Campus Community,

The College of Letters & Science is thrilled to announce the inaugural recipients of the L&S Faculty Awards.

Nominated by divisional deans and selected by a sub-committee of the L&S Advisory Board, these awardees have been selected for their exceptional scholarship, service to the College and community, and transformational teaching. These extraordinary individuals not only embody the excellence of the College of Letters & Science, but they also serve as an inspiration to our entire campus community.

In appreciation for their outstanding achievements, awardees each receive a reserved parking spot on campus for a year. These recipients will be celebrated at a private ceremony on Wednesday, May 24, 2023.

2023 L&S Faculty Award Winners 

David Blackwell Award
Newly tenured faculty

  • Jovan Scott Lewis, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Geography
  • Michael Zaletel, Associate Professor and Thomas and Alison Schneider Chair in the Department of Physics

Beatriz Manz Award
Recently promoted to full professor

  • SanSan Kwan, Professor and Chair of the Department of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies
  • Leigh Raiford, Professor of African American Studies and Inaugural Director of the Black Studies Collaboratory

Jessica Blanche Peixotto Award
Recently promoted to professor above scale

  • Iswar Hariharan, Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology and Co-Chair of the Department of Molecular & Cell Biology

If you’d like to share a note of congratulations with your colleagues, please do so using this form.


Jennifer Johnson-Hanks
Executive Dean, College of Letters & Science

This message was sent to all UC Berkeley instructors and staff.